The Universe

The unknown.

Vast, empty, and infinite,

The stars, planets, and galaxies align.

 

The stars,

They often tend to fill a void of 

Sadness, 

Shame,

And sacrifice.

They are bright and particular, 

Shining and twinkling against the softness of the skin.

 

Planets

revolve just like thoughts circulating,

Just like silent whispers,

And heavy gusts of wind

With coldness filling the room with

Peace,

Perfection,

And power.

 

Galaxies.

Gas, dust, and billions of stars encompass space.

Just like the leaves that fall of trees swirl covering every patch of ground

Like the sea containing so many creatures,

yet we have only discovered the five percent,

What happened to the 95?

 

The unknown.

Vast, empty, and infinite,

The stars, planets, and galaxies align.


My poem, The Universe, touches on what we call the unknown. We have little knowledge of what is out there. I love how there is an infinite world or possible dimension that we know very little about, and I hope in my lifetime new discoveries come out expressing the truth. Ofen we get a sense of imagination of what is actually out there.

In my poem, I come to describe the different components of a universe. This includes the stars, the planets, and galaxies, and I metaphorically relate all of these to my life. I find the universe to be a beautiful thing as it seems so empty, but so full at the same time. I constantly wonder, what is out there before us. What other stars are unfamiliar to us? What other planets need to be discovered? What else do we not know about the place we were born in? Millions of these questions continue to circulate within my mind.

In addition, I have learned that sometimes the unknown makes us feel better because we have nothing to worry about.

Lastly, I made sure to repeat the first and last stanza’s to emphasize the point that I was making with the universe, and it is a way to describe how it actually is. I bolded the words such as the stars, planets, and galaxies to represent the main focus of the poem, and as just a way to include style to my piece.

Featured Image Source: http://hargasepedaterbaru.me/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *